• 6:42 pm June 26, 2015

Chelsea wins big at the 2014-15 Premier League.

Abiola Afolabi

The English Premier League is acclaimed one of the most popular sports league in the World and was launched in 1992. However, the 2014/15 season was quite compelling, being the 23rd of its kind, the season started on 16 August 2014 and rounded up on 24 May 2015. It had a total of 38 games, as all 20 Clubs, compete for the highest points to be named the champion and win a prize money.

The game is a little tricky since the number of scored goals does not determine the points; three points are awarded for a victory, one for a draw and none for a loss.

The previous winner, Manchester City came into the season as the defending champions of the 2013-14 season together with Leicester City, Burnley and Queens Park as promoted teams.

Jose Mourinho, the coach of the leading team: Chelsea doled out outlandish sums on acquiring world’s best players to the club and he made sure they delivered. Chelsea beat the Crystal Palace 1-0 and won the Premier League title with three games to play.

The team had a good start and was very dedicated through the year, they remained on top the entire year, and this is the Club’s fourth title in the last eleven years but first in the last six seasons.

The win earned the club a whopping sum of £99 million, as it was ahead of Arsenal, which had five games left with 16 leading points. The prize money is the highest ever earned by a single club in one season from central funds.

Ahead of the next season, the next best two teams, Arsenal or Manchester United stand a chance of succeeding Chelsea as title winners in 2015-16.